Life Success Notes

Scriptural views on prosperity

Whom or what I depend on

Son of righteousness I recently realised that I was hopelessly dependent on money and time. I believed that if I had money the bulk of my challenges in life would be over. If I had more time, if I could somehow organise myself better and draw my boundaries better, then any challenges remaining (after the money issue was sorted) would fizzle out too. Yes money and time would sort me out. They were all I needed for a fruitful and happy life. But God said to me the other day “Thou shalt have no other gods before me”

I’m a Christian. I believe and love my Lord. He gave Himself for me when He died on the cross of Calvary. I know He wants all of me. He’s a jealous God. I’ve given myself to Him and really love this experience with my Special Friend. Really love being lead and encouraged by Him to develop – to grow and change for His glory. He leads me through the valley to pastures green. The other day He said to me “You shall not make for yourself an idol.”

These things that I now recognise as my old idols – I now realise they were horrible masters. Cruel and fickle. Destructive and disruptive. I’m so glad to throw them out the window with God’s help, to cast them away from me. Yes we need money. Yes we need time. But my Heavenly Father knows I have need of these. He said to me the other day “Seek Ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness.” He said “All these things shall be added unto you.”

Thank you Lord for being so patient with me, for waiting for me – finally I get it! Put You and Your righteousness first, and You will provide the money and time I need to face my challenges! Money and time are resources that belong to you! So simple yet so deep. So rewarding yet so obscure. I found a hidden pearl of great price. I rejoice in God my Saviour.

Julia Rosamund Brown Oct 03 2009

Bible verses quoted:- Ex.20.3 KJV, Ex.20.4 NIV and Matt.6.33 KJV

October 3, 2009 - Posted by | Biblical Success, Sin, Success, Victory | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. And to add to the above, TODAY the preacher preached from Jonah – see Jonah 2.8 -don’t forfeit God’s grace by following idols – well there you go

    JRB
    Oct 03 2009

    Comment by Julia Brown | October 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

